Application Information

Recreation Aotearoa recognises excellence, innovation, effectiveness and outstanding activity within the recreation industry as well as the achievement and service of individuals whose commitment and contribution promotes the ongoing development and enhancement of the industry.

By entering these awards, you have an opportunity to showcase what you have been working on, give your communities the opportunity to share their successes with others and convince the powers that be that ongoing commitment to and investment in recreation is both necessary and justified for healthy, engaged, sustainable communities and will help them achieve the wellbeing outcomes sought by the Government.

There are seven outstanding initiative awards and four individual awards:

  • Outstanding Community Recreation Programme

  • Outstanding Event

  • Outstanding Park

  • Outstanding Pool

  • Outstanding Project

  • Outstanding Recreation Facility

  • Outstanding Research, Planning, and Policy Award (this award has different criteria to the others)

  • Emerging Recreation Leader of the Year

  • Ian Galloway Memorial Cup

  • Paul Stuart Memorial Award

  • Mark Mitchell Memorial Trophy

There is no restriction on who can make a nomination. For example they could be from a Council, Regional Sports Trust, community group/Trust, consultant or contractor involved with the initiative. Just make sure it addresses all of the judging criteria, and work on the basis that the judges know nothing about your nominated initiative other than what they read in the nomination, so be clear and concise in your description.

HOT TIP: There's nothing more annoying than your computer crashing just before you submit your application, so a great tip is to write your application in word or notepad first and then copy it into the form - that way you'll never lose your hard work!

Watch our webinar on how to make a great application here

Please note Winners will not be notified prior to the Awards’ ceremony so we encourage all nominees to attend the dinner. All nominations are to be made electronically. No hard copies will be required or accepted.

DEADLINE FOR NOMINATIONS: 5pm, Sunday 11 September 2022

Judging Criteria of Outstanding Initiative Awards

Judging Criteria for Individual Awards