Recreation Awards - Previous Winners

2019 Rec Awards.png


Outstanding Project – The winner was Hutt City Council for the development and delivery of Play in the Hutt. A Merit Award was given to Selwyn District Council for the Selwyn Sports Centre.


Outstanding Event – The winner was Harakeke Down South for the Murihiku Matariki Festival. Christchurch City Council received a Merit Award for the 2021 Walking Festival.


Outstanding Park – The winner was Invercargill City Council’s Queens Park.


Outstanding Pool – The winner was Belgravia Leisure’s Trust House Recreation Centre in Masterton.

Outstanding Community Recreation Programme -  The winner was Wellington City Council for their LeisureCard. Two Merit Awards were given to Sport Waikato for their This is ME® programme, and Gap Filler for Placemaking at One Central.


Outstanding Research, Planning, and Policy – The winner was Invercargill City Council for Our Trees – A Tatou Rākau, their 2020 tree plan.


Paul Stuart Memorial Award – Nigel Skelt of ILT Stadium Southland.

Ian Galloway Memorial Cup – Sally Sheedy of Waipā District Council.


Mark Mitchell Memorial Trophy – Brendon McDermott of Active Southland.


Emerging Recreation Leader of the Year – Elise Yule of Xyst.

Recreation Aotearoa Fellow - Richard Lindsay (ARPro)


Recreation Life Member - Jamie Delich 


Outstanding Project Winners - Ngā Puna Wai Sports Hub, Christchurch City Council & Central Energy Trust Wildbase Recovery, Palmerston North City Council & Community
Merit - Waterworld Hamilton Marjor Renewals Project 2018, Hamilton City Council; Taiora: QEII Recreation & Sports Centre, Christchurch City Council; Te Auanga/Oakley Creek, Auckland Council & Boffa Miskell; Wanaka Pool, Queenstown Lakes District Council


Outstanding Park Winner - Shakespear Regional Park, Auckland Council
Merit - Ahimate Reserve, Palmerston North City Council & Ohakune Carrot Adventure Park, Ruapehu District Council


Outstanding Event Winner - Ara Mai! Te Whiti Rise Night Walk, Hutt City Council

Outstanding Community Recreation Programme Winner - Ka whakatipū i te whenua ka ora tatou - Cultivate the land and give life to the people, Auckland Teaching Garden Trust & Auckland Council
Merit - This is Me® Programme, Sport Waikato; AroOra, Community Leisure Management & Playing Palmy Programme, Heather Knox


Outstanding Pool Winner - Lido Aquatic Centre, CLM

Outstanding Research, Policy & Planning Winner - Hamilton City Council's Play Strategy 2019-2030, Hamilton City Council


Paul Stuart Memorial Award - Kirsty Knowles, CLM

Ian Galloway Cup - Mark Bowater, Auckland Council

Emerging Recreation Leader - Hannah Chapman-Carr, Auckland Council

Mark Mitchell Memorial Trophy - Steve Gibling, University of Canterbury

Fellowship Recipients - Jane Aickin (ARPro), Auckland Council & Fay Freeman, Fay Freeman Associates

See a list of winners prior to 2019